People & Places

The CGVR Lab is for students to build computer graphics and virtual reality projects. As such there have been many excellent students who have created their cool computer games or other projects and thesis works in the lab.

The poster wall next to our main lab room shows a lot of cool projects from our awesome students.


 

The Staff

To help the students in using the lab and for providing education we have a number of people in the lab’s staff.


Jaanus Jaggo, MSc
Game Design and Development
jaanus.jaggo@ut.ee

Raimond Tunnel, MSc
Computer Graphics
Lab Admin and Lead
raimond.tunnel@ut.ee
madfb
Madis Vasser, PhD
Virtual Reality and the Brain
madis.vasser@ut.ee
ats_suurem
Ats Kurvet
Students’ Technical Help
ats.kurvet@gmail.com

Ulrich Norbisrath, PhD
Virtual Reality
ulno@ulno.net

Daniel Nael
Game Programming
daniel.nael@ut.ee

Mark Muhhin, MSc
Video Games
mark.muhhin@ut.ee

The CGVR Lab at Delta (Narva mnt 18, Tartu)

The Lab rooms 2007 and 3046 in Delta are equipped with 6 quality workstations for students to use. The available VR headsets include OSVR HDK 1.2, Oculus Rift CV1, Oculus Quest, HTC Vive and HTC Vive Pro Eye. The lab also has a set of Leap Motion IR hand sensors. The overall tracking space for room-scale VR is about 18 square meters. See the inventory page for a detailed list of usable inventory.

Software for creating virtual worlds: Blender, Unity and Unreal Engine 4.

In the lab rooms Ats Kurvet is also working as a consultant for students. He is experienced in both the Unreal Engine 4 and Unity game engines, Houdini and Blender modelling software and many other computer graphics tools. Ats is a professional computer graphics developer with his own company ExteriorBox.

Next to the lab room 2007 there is a computer graphics computer lab in room 2006. The PCs there have a RTX 2070 graphics card in them. In addition to the practice sessions of our courses, the room is also suitable for student project expos.

CNSWe are working closely together with the computational neuroscience lab at the computer science department in Tartu University. http://neuro.cs.ut.ee/